Open Session Agenda

American Numismatic Association 2021-2023 Board of Governors Chicago World's Fair of Money August 14, 2021 • 10:00 – 11:00 am

Call to Order – President Ralph Ross

Roll Call – Secretary Sanford Pearl

2.

1.	Appointment	of Corporate	& Special Officers	 President Ralph Ross
----	--------------------	--------------	--------------------	--

In accordance with Article IV, Section 2 of the ANA Bylaws, the appointment of the 2021-2023 Officers and Special Officers of the Association and the ANA Outreach Programs Coordinator is subject to the approval of the Board of Governors.
MOTION by, second by to approve the appointment of these Corporate and Special Officers for the 2021-2023 term:
General Counsel – Hollie Wieland Treasurer – Larry Baber Secretary – Sanford Pearl Parliamentarian – Greg Lyon Assistant Treasurers – Carol Hull, Dan Usiak, Jan Valentine, Gerome Walton Historian – Q. David Bowers ANA Outreach Programs Coordinator – to be determined
Appointment of Committees – President Ralph Ross
In accordance with Article IV, Section 2 of the ANA Bylaws, the nomination of the committee chairs and members is subject to an affirmative vote of the Board of Governors for all committees not otherwise provided for in the Bylaws.
MOTION by, second by to approve the appointment of these committee chairs and members:

Awards Committee

Sandy Pearl, Chair

Mike Ellis

Barbara Gregory

Clifford Mishler, Board Liaison

Caleb Noel

Donna Nunez, Staff Liaison

Bylaws & Ethics Committee

Doug Andrews, Chair

Joseph Boling Charmy Harker Gary Lewis

Mark Lighterman, Board Liaison

Greg Lyon Clifford Mishler

Donna Nunez, Staff Liaison

Hollie Wieland, General Counsel

Convention Committee

Tom Uram, Chair

Jennifer Ackerman, Staff Liaison

Logan Curtis Muriel Eymery Mary Lynn Garrett Sam Joseph

Mark Lighterman, Board Liaison

Shanna Schmidt

Development Committee

Patrick McBride, Chair Donna Frater, Staff Liaison Charles Morgan, Board Liaison

Tom Hallenbeck

Kim Kiick

Clifford Mishler

Education & YN Programs Committee

Brian Fanton, Chair Jennifer Ackerman

Mike Ellis

Mary Lynn Garrett, Board Liaison

Sam Gelberd

Rod Gillis, Staff Liaison

Lisa Loos

Walter Ostromecki Jeff Swindling

eLearning & LMS Committee

Don Kagin, Chair

Kim Kiick

Charles Morgan, Board Liaison

Doug Mudd, Staff Liaison

Rob Oberth

Exhibits Committee

Simcha Kuritzky, Chair

Joseph Boling, Chief Judge & Board

Liaison

Halbert Carmichael

Logan Curtis, Staff Liaison

Steven D'Ippolito

Bryce Doxzon

Eric Holcomb

Brett Irick

Mark Lighterman, National Exhibits

Coordinator

Oded Paz

Michael Shutterly

Tom Uram

Finance & Budget Committee

Greg Lyon, Chair Larry Baber Muriel Eymery

Brent Howe, Staff Liaison

Carol Hull Kim Kiick

Shanna Schmidt, Board Liaison

Marketing Committee

Deb Muehleisen, Chair & Staff Liaison

Pete Gentzler Nathan McAllister Amanda Miller

Rob Oberth, Board Liaison

Max Spiegel

Membership & Outreach Committee

Stanley Chu, Chair V. Kurt Bellman Logan Curtis Muriel Eymery Mark Ferguson Donna Frater, Staff Liaison

Mike Fuljenz **Bob Mellor**

Rob Oberth, Board Liaison

Museum/Library Committee

Doug Mudd, Chair & Staff Liaison

Larry Baber Anne Bentley Rick Ewing Erik Goldstein Greg Lyon

Shanna Schmidt, Board Liaison

Ray Williams

Publication Committee

Caleb Noel, Chair & Staff Liaison

Roger Boye

Mike Ellis, Board Liaison

Barbara Gregory Clifford Mishler Steve Roach Arlyn Sieber

3. Audit Committee Appointment – President Ralph Ross

In accordance with	Article IV, Section 4 of the	ne ANA Bylaws: The elected Board of
Governors shall have	ve all authority to appoin	t the Audit Committee and its members.
MOTION by	, second by	to appoint <u>Clifford Mishler as Chair</u> ;
Joseph Boling, Mar	y Lynn Garrett, Greg Lyo	n, and Shanna Schmidt as members of the
2021-2023 ANA Au	ıdit Committee.	

4. Destruction of Ballots – President Ralph Ross

In accordance with Article VII, Section 6(d) of the ANA Bylaws: All ballots and envelopes shall be retained by said firm until otherwise instructed by the Board of Governors. The ballots may not be destroyed until six months after the opening day of the convention at which the results are announced, and then only by majority vote of the Board of Governors, unless a recount application is made pursuant to Section 11 of this Article VII.

MOTION by	, second by	to authorize Election Services
Corporation to des	troy all print and electron	ic ballots from the 2021 Board of Governor
Election on or after	r February 10, 2022 in acco	ordance with Bylaws Article VII, Section 6.

5. Funding for Publication of an America the Beautiful Quarter Series Book – Executive Director Kim Kiick

Former *Numismatist* Editor in Chief Barbara Gregory is working with Arlyn Sieber to produce a collection of reprints of his articles chronicling the America the Beautiful quarter series that appeared in the magazine during Gregory's tenure. The requisite licensing application has been submitted to the US Mint and is pending approval.

With permission from the board, use of the Revolving Publishing Fund (an endowment established in 1995 for the specific purpose of publishing numismatic books and brochures) would enable us to produce the book. The current balance of the fund is \$88,000. Costs for labor and printing would be \$8,205 + \$500 to produce the digital edition (\$8,705). The ANA will retain revenue from sales of the book.

Revolving Publishing Fund (August 13, 1995):

Motion by Bressett, second by Carmody/Swiatek, That insomuch as the President has recommended that we more closely define the hobby enhancement dinner honoring Q. David Bowers according to a stratagem developed by Vice President Bressett, that the 1995 Hobby Enhancement Dinner at the 104th ANA Anniversary Convention be used as startup costs for a revolving endowment fund of \$50,000 for developing a numismatic book and brochure publishing effort. The balance of the fund is to come from Endowment as to be consistent with the five year plan.

Vote: Passed – 6 Yes, 3 No (Lisot; Pittman; Wilson)

MOTION by	, second by	to approve the use of up to \$8,705
from the Revolving	Publishing Fund for the	e purpose of publishing 500 copies of a bool
of Arlyn Sieber's art	cicles chronicling the An	nerica the Beautiful quarter series.

6. Schedule for Board Meetings – President Ralph Ross

Regular meetings of the Board of Governors are scheduled on the second Tuesday of each month at 4:00pm MT/ 5:00pm CT/ 6:00pm ET/ 3:00pm PT.

ADJOURN